Nature Illustration Inspired By Peter Brown

 

I start by scanning my watercolour illustrations into photoshop and removing the background. I also put each leaf on to a separate layer so that I can move and change them later.

Screen Shot 2017-04-28 at 09.58.36

Screen Shot 2017-04-28 at 09.24.33

Next, I put the leaves over the tree layer and began to duplicate, resize and move them around until I am happy with the placement.

Screen Shot 2017-04-28 at 10.04.20

Some of the leaves are a muted shade of green and will be placed at the back of the arrangement to create tonal difference and depth.

Screen Shot 2017-04-28 at 09.54.30

I duplicated each leaf a few times so I would have enough to cover the whole tree. I then arranged them mostly randomly until the tree was full. I left some gaps in the leaves so it doesn’t look too dense.

Screen Shot 2017-05-11 at 16.17.48

This is the finished illustration. I could take it further by putting it into a scene or context. It was very time consuming to put together so I wont be using this method to create trees in my final design but I can use it in other ways.

TREE

 

Leave a Reply

